Montana Updates Noxious Weed List

     Three new weeds have been added to the Montana State Noxious Weed List, while three others have had their classification changed. With 33 noxious weeds recognized in the state (spread across 7.6 million acres), many pose a threat to agriculture and waterways. "Ninety-nine percent of noxious weeds have the potential to affect agriculture in some form," said Montana Department of Agriculture Statewide Noxious Weed Coordinator Dave Burch. "That's why we have a priority list and we try to stop them before they become too widespread."

 Hoary alyssum (

Hoary alyssum (

     Non-native common reed (phragmites) has been discovered in the state, while Brazilian waterweed (Egeria densa) and parrot feather watermilfoil (Myriophyllum aquaticum) have been added to the Regulated Plant List (prohibited from being sold or transported). The move is part of an effort to curb the plants' presence in the aquarium business  

     Eurasian watermilfoil and flowering rush were upgraded to Priority 2A noxious weeds, meaning that they are common in some areas of the state, and that their management is being handled by local districts. 

     Hoary alyssum was also moved to Priority 2B (abundant in the state, spread across many counties).

     The full article is available here and through the link available below.